American History 148

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) and the Library of Congress provide access to millions of texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations in the United States. The DPLA is a incredible resource of historical primary source material.

Digital Public Library of America

The Library of Congress has also developed over 400 Research Guides on topics from U.S. History.

• 100 Milestone Documents

• AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History

• American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications

• American Journeys: Eyewitness accounts of Early American exploration and settlement

• American Presidency Project

• American President: A Reference Resource

• American Women

• American Yawp

  Chapters include links to primary sources

• Archive of Muslim American History & Life

• Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

• Best of History Web Sites: American History

• Communal Societies Collection (Hamilton College)

• Crusade for the Vote (National Women's History Museum)

• Digital History

• Digital State Archives

• Disability History Museum

• DocsTeach: Primary Source Documents

• Early American History and Culture Links

• eHistory

• Elections and Voting Data Guide 1789-

• Eyewitness to History: Index

• G. Robert Vincent Voice Library

• HyperHistory Online

• International Association for the Preservation of Spiritualist and Occult Periodicals

• Internet History Sourcebooks Project

• Medical Heritage Library

• Medical Heritage Society (Internet Archive)

• National Archives: Access to Archival Databases

• National Archives: Advanced Search

• National Museum of American History: Collections

• Negro, Black, and African American Census Reports LibGuide

• Our Military Heritage (Allen County Public Library)

• Periscope Films (U.S. government military films 20th c.)

• Presidential Elections, 1789 to 1920: Resource Guides

  The Library of Congress has made resource guides that highlight sources for the Presidential Elections, 1789-1920.

• Presidents of the United States: Resource Guidess

• Prices and Wages by Decade

• Shappell.org: This Day In History

  Includes letters, posters, photos, artifacts, etc. Particularly strong in 19th century U.S. resources.

• Sites Using Omeka

• Songs of America (Library of Congress)

  A database of sheet music, audio files, etc. of popular songs.

• South Asian American Digital Archive

• Spirited Republic: Alcohol in American History

• Umbra Search

  Search engine for archival resources about African American history

• Americas Archive (Rice University)

• US Founders and Presidents: Primary Sources

• Voice of the Shuttle: U.S. History

• World Digital Library: United States of America

• World Wide Web Virtual Library: History: United States