American History 148

This box includes links to resources about World War II from all over the world.

• "A Time To Heal" (Ecclesiastes 3:3):The Story of the Children's Home in Otwock, Poland 1944

• 5th Army Mobile Radio Station

• 8 Ball Tales: Journal of the 44th Bomb Group Veterans Association

• 19 Kilometers from Auschwitz: The Story of the Jewish Community of Trzebinia, Poland May 20, 1942

• 24th General Hospital in World War II (Tulane, LA)

• 90th Division Association

  Includes unit histories, After Action Reports, General Orders, etc.

• 100th Infantry Battalion

  Includes the full run of the Puka Puka Parade, a newsletter written by the veterans of the 100th Infantry Battalion.

• 100th Infantry Battalion Veterans Education Center

• 376th Heavy Bombardment Group Oral Histories

• 376th Heavy Bombardment Group Oral Histories

• 392nd Bomb Group

  Includes mission reports, photos, etc. Also includes substantial information about POWs.

• Abe L. Plotkin Collection (liberation of Ohrdruf Concentration Camp)

• Activities and entertainment at Heart Mountain Relocation Center Photographs, 1942-1943

• After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor

• Alfred Steer: War Crimes Trials Participant

• Alternative Service in the Second World War: Conscientious Objectors in Canada 1939-1945

• America at War 1941-1945

• American Occupation of Japan, Voices of the Key Participants

• American war posters from the Second World War, circa 1940-1945

• Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar

• Artifacts from the Holocaust and Nazi Germany

• Atom Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources

• Atomic Bombing in Nagasaki: Destruction of a City; Aug. 9, 1945

• Auschwitz Album May 1944

• Barney Rosset and China

• Before They Perished: Deportation of Jews from Zaglebie Dabrowskie to Auschwitz Apr 1942-Jul 1945

• Bletchley Park: Home of the Codebreakers 1938-1945

• Bomb Sight: Mapping the World War II 2 London Blitz Bomb Census (interactive map)

• Bryant College Goes To War

• Camp Ruston Collection

  POW camp in Louisiana

• Case of General Yamashita: A Memorandum

• CBC Archives: Second World War

• Celebration of the Human Spirit: Japanese-American Relocation Camps in Arizona

• Center for Jewish History: Digital Collections

• CF&I Women of World War II

  Information and primary sources about women who were steelworkers during WWII

• Chaplain Higuchi Wartime Correspondence

  Chaplain of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team, an all-Japanese American unit

• Charles Cross Collection of Buchenwald Concentration Camp Photographs, 1945

• Chico Flyer, 1943

  Newspaper of the Chico Army Air Field, unit of the 21st Bomb Wing

• Children of the Lodz Ghetto: A Memorial Research Project

• Cinemocracy (Internet Archive)

  Propaganda films made for the U.S. government

• Civilian Public Service Story: Living Peace in a Time of War (conscientious objectors)

• Col. Talman Krumm '34 File (1104th Combat Engineers Group)

• Columbia Army Air Base

• The Complete, Uncensored Private Snafu Cartoons from World War II, vol. 1

• The Complete, Uncensored Private Snafu Cartoons from World War II, vol. 2

• Confinement in the Land of Enchantment: Japanese Americans in New Mexico During World War II

• Connecticut Veterans Commemorative Booklets

  Commemorative booklets issued to soldiers at the end of World War II

• CSU Japanese American History Digitization Project

  Includes resources on the War Relocation Authority internment camps in World War II

• CT-26 Action Reports from Iwo Jima

• D-Day June 6, 1944

• David M. Berke Collection of Nuremberg Trials Depositions, 1944-1945

• Dear Miss Breed: Letters from Camp... (Japanese Internment Camp WWII)

• Decision To Drop the Atomic Bomb

• Delaney Tokyo Trial Papers

• Democracy at War: Canadian Newspapers and the Second World War

• Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project

• The Doctor's Trial: The Medical Case of the Subsequent Nuremberg Proceedings

• Documenting Wallenberg: An Archive of Testimonials

• Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection

  An extensive collection of documents

• Dr. Seuss Went to War: A Catalog of Political Cartoons by Dr. Seuss (1941-1943)

• Dutch Underground Press During World War II

• Echoes & Reflections: Hearing the Voices of the Victims (Yad Vashem)

  Interviews with Holocaust survivors

• Eddie Rickenbacker Collection

• Eisenhower Communiques

• Enactments and Approved Papers of the Control Council and Coordinating Committee; Allied Control Authority, Germany (1945-1948)

• Encoded Communications of World War II

• Ernie Pyle

  Includes his columns from World War II

• Estelle Ishigo Papers, 1941-1957 (Heart Mount Relocation Camp)

• Eternal Jew 1938 [Kristallnacht]

• EuroDocs: Germany: National Socialism and World War II

• EuroDocs: Shoah (Holocaust)

• European Resistance Archive

• Fire in My Heart: The Story of Hannah Senesh

• Fisher, Joseph World War II Scrapbook

• Flaherty Collection: Japanese Internment Records

• Ford Islander

  The newspaper of the Naval Air Station at Pearl Harbor. Includes issues from v.1 (June 2, 1943) - v.6 (June 11, 1948), but some issues are missing.

• Fort Missoula Alien Detention Camp Collection

  This camp held Italian men, Japanese resident aliens, German resident aliens, and Japanese Latin and South Americans during World War II.

• Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

• Fox Movietone News: The War Years

• Frank J. Davis World War II Photographs

• From Confinement to College: Video Oral Histories of Japanese American Students in World War II

• George and Frank C. Hirahara Photograph Collection, 1943-1945 (Heart Mountain Internment Camp)

• George C. Marshall Digital Archives

  Digitized documents from World War II and postwar.

• George Mountz Collection - WWII letters and Yamashita Trial Photographs

• George Mountz Collection - WWII letters and Yamashita Trial Photographs

• German American Internee Coalition

  Resources about German Americans and Latin Americans who were placed in internment camps by the US government during World War II

• Geronimo: One Woman's War

• Ghetto Fighters' House Museum

• Go for broke: Hanashi Oral History Archives (Japanese American World War II Veterans)

• Great Plains During World War II

• Harold Montgomery WWII Photo Album (Le Shima, Japan)

• Hawai'i Nisei Story: Americans of Japanese Ancestry During World War II

• Hawaii War Records Depository Photos

• Hiding Air Bases, Factories and Plants in World War II

• Hiroshima Aug 6, 1945

• Historic Government Publications from World War II

• Holocaust Database

  "A vast philanthropic initiative to digitise and make searchable almost 20 million records relating to the Holocaust and Nazi persecution was completed this week, with the resulting database made available to use for free."

• Holocaust Denial on Trial

• Holocaust Education and Archive Research Team

• Holocaust Rescue and Relief:Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Commmittee

• Holocaust Resource Center (Yad VaShem)

• Home Front: California During World War II

• Human Rights After Hitler: The Story of the UNWCC

  Documents of the United Nations War Crime Commission.

• Imperial War Museums: First World War

• Indictment from the International Military Tribunal for the Far East

• In Our Own Backyard: Resisting Nazi Propaganda in Southern California, 1933-1945

• International Criminal Court: Browse the Tools

  Includes transcripts from the International Military Tribunal of the Far East (the Tokyo Trials)

• International Military Tribunal for Germany

• International Military Tribunal for the Far East (IMTFE) Digital Collection

• Wartime Internment Camps (National Archives of Australia)

• Internment of San Francisco Japanese

• Interview with Major Richard M. Gordon (Bataan Death March Survivor)

• Japanese American Archival Collection

• Japanese American Exhibit & Access Project (Internment)

• Japanese American Internment Collection (Washington State University)

• Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)

• Japanese American Veterans Association Digitization Project

• Japan Surrenders

• Jewish Partisan Educational Foundation

• Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust (British Library)

• Jewish Virtual Library: The Holocaust

• John Moak World War II Diary Collection

• Joseph Berry Keenan Digital Collection (Japanese War Crimes Trials, WW II)

• Judgment International Military Tribunal for the Far East

• Kaiten Special Attack Forces (Japanese Kamikazes)

• Kamikaze Images

• Kindertransport 1938-1940

• Kindertransport Association

• Lamar Q. Ball Photograph Collection: World War II in Georgia

• Last Best Hope: A True Story of Escape, Evasion, and Remembrance

• Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals 1947-1949

  A 15 volume set that includes summaries of trials from both Europe and Japan

• Letters by Women During World War II

• Liberation of Bergen-Belsen Apr. 14, 1945

• Life and Work of George Hoshida: A Japanese American's Journey

• Lord Haw-Haw: The Nazi Broadcaster Who Threatened Britain

• Baptism by Fire: CIA Analysis of the Korean War

• Coffee, Doughnuts and a Witty Line of Chatter: The Photos and Letters of Helen Stevenson Meyner in Japan and Korea, 1950-1952

• Cold War International History Project: Korean War, 1950-1953

• Eagle Forward: Newspaper of the 24th Infantry Regiment, Korea, 1950-1951

• Forgotten: The Arkansas Korean War Project

• Korea (Oral Interviews)

• Korean Digital Archive: Martin J. Bolhower Collection

• Korean War, 1950-1953

• Korean War and Its Origins (Truman Presidential Library)

• Korean War Armistice

• Korean War Atrocities (Congressional hearing)

• Korean War Biological Warfare Allegations

• Korean War Educator

• Korean War Origins, 1945-1950

• Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection

• Korean War Propaganda Leaflets

• Korean War Records (National Archives)

• Korean War Veterans of Mount Horeb (Wisconsin)

• Our Military Heritage: Korean War

• Rutgers Oral History Archives: Korean War Index

• Voces Oral History Project: Giving Voice to the American Latino Experience

• Air America: Upholding the Airmen's Bond

• American Prisoners of War in Southeast Asia, 1970 (Congressional hearing)

• Australia's Vietnam War

• Best of History Web Sites: U.S. History: Vietnam

• Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project: Vietnam

• CIA's Vietnam Histories

• Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy: Vietnam

• GI Press Collection, 1964-1977

• Gulf of Tonkin (U.S. NSA)

• Gulf of Tonkin Incident, 40 Years Later

• My Lai Courts-Martial 1970

• Peers Inquiry: Report of the Department of the Army Review of the Preliminary Investigation into the My Lai Incident

• Pentagon Papers

• POW MIA (U.S. CIA)

• Veterans History Project: Vietnam War

• Veterans of the Vietnam Era Oral History Project (Utah Valley University)

• Vietnam (oral interviews) (University of Tennessee Knoxville)

• Vietnam Center and Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive

• Vietnam Collection (U.S. CIA)

• Vietnam Collection (WGBH)

• Vietnam Conflict (Naval Postgraduate School)

• Vietnam Era Prisoner-of-War/Missing--Action Database

• Vietnam Era Veterans Oral Histories (Ball State University)

• Vietnamese Conflict 1961-1975 (Indiana Historical Society)

• Vietnam Powwow: The Vietnam War as Remembered by Native American Veterans

• Vietnam Studies (series) (U.S. Army Center of Military History)

• Vietnam War (Wilson Center Digital Archive)

• Vietnam War - Stephen H. Warner Collection (photographs)

• Vietnam War Websources