Funded through a grant from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, this electronic book brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables. Updates to this source were discontinued in 2013.
This freely accessible database is a comprehensive source for criminal justice publications, including library abstracts for 225,000+ journal articles, research reports, data sets, and government publications. Since 2014, journal articles are largely excluded, with the focus on materials produced, funded, and sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Justice. Most entries include links to the full text of reports and data sets. Search for the full text of journal article and book titles in the Ship Discovery Service.
The most comprehensive site for accessing data sets and analysis tools for criminal justice research. Brings together data sets from all across the range of government agencies.
The National Institute of Justice (NIJ) is "the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice" --website. This site provides a virtual, comprehensive online encyclopedia to criminal justice issues. Searching can be by topic, browsing, and thorough cross-referencing throughout the entries. An excellent way to get introduced to current research on criminal justice topics.
The official source of statistics on U.S. death rates and causes of death. Includes homicide statistics.
This website is a key source for tracking criminal justice statistics, research, and programs at the state level. It includes ISAR - the Infobase of State Activities & Research for searching for programs and reports.
National Archives of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
This site provides access to a criminal justice subset of the material in ICPSR. It includes reports with corresponding datasets for downloading, as well as a separate search feature for identifying data-related literature (journal articles, magazines, books, etc.). Links above the search results display allow for easy searching of the whole ICPSR database.
