Skip to Main Content

Research and Library Introduction (ENGL 101 and 102)

Resources based on Information Need

You likely know the phrase...use the right tool for the job? 

Library Databases follow the same principle.  Library databases are essentially tools that you use to access the with content organized around a particular subject or a collection of resources to answer your information needs.

What's a database?  You probably use one every day.  Amazon, for example, is a database with a collection of products that you can search, filter your results, and save what you found.

For your Creative Research Project, you'll need to looking into a wide variety of sources to match your information need.  In other words, you'll need the right tool for the job.  Below is a table of suggested databases that match the information need of your assignment.

Your Information Need Suggested Database(s)

You want a one
stop search
that includes 
articles, books, media & more.
Library Discovery Layer

 
Biographical Information

Credo Reference

Did you know that 61% of college students use Wikipedia for research even though just 24% of them believe that it is a trustworthy source?  Credo is a great start to finding credible sources from reliable sources.  

GALE Virtual Reference Library

Includes a helpful array of reference sources across multiple subjects

Credo Reference Tutorial: Gale Reference Tutorial:

Literary Research
Academic Search Complete
Tutorial:		 ProQuest Tutorial:

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial:

Google Scholar Tutorial:
   

Remember! DON'T WAIT!  If you have questions at ANY point in the research process from brainstorming to finding articles to putting your project together, your WWCC Librarians are here to help you!
We’re here to help in person, over Zoom, and have 24/7 Chat available!

Need help? Click here for DATABASE LOGIN instructions.


Jacquelyn Ray, MLIS, MA Hector Lujan, MLIS
jacquelyn.ray@wwcc.edu hector.lujan@wwcc.edu