Remember! Access to Library databases from off-campus locations requires that you use login using your WWCC credentials. If you are not able to access databases please contact us as library@wwcc.edu.
WWCC Library Databases for Business 101
***Are the databases focused on for this class.
General Business Databases
EBSCO Business Database Group – searches several business and legal content related databases at once
Specialized Business Databases
Business Articles, Company Information and Business News
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) – an essential research database for peer-reviewed, full-text business journals.***
Mergent Intellect - an incredibly powerful database for companies, industry research, and more.***
NexisUni - an excellent resource for company information and business news.
Industry Research
IBISWorld – provides thoroughly researched, accurate, current business information, and expert analysis regarding market conditions, forecasts, supply chain, and competitor activity in the industry***
Small Business Reference Center is a great starting point on different business types and business related issues that impact the small business owner or entrepreneur!
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO) – offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics and includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.***
Marketing Research
ABI Inform (Proquest) - This database includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics.
Academic OneFile - Marketing (Gale) - This topic page within Academic OneFile focuses on marketing but covers multiple topics across Business.
EDGAR
EDGAR - The EDGAR database is provided by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to research a public company’s financial information and operations by reviewing the filings the company makes with the SEC. You can also research information provided by mutual funds (including money market funds), exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and variable annuities.
What?- What is your product or service going to offer?
So What?/Why do we care?--What Problem is this going to solve and/or Why does someone need this or Why would they want this?
How?-How are you going to make it happen?
Industry Research Using Porter’s 5 Forces
Identify industry name and/or NAICS code.
|
Activity #1: Competition in the Industry |
|
|
Discussion: |
What information would you gather to learn more about your company’s competitors?
Example: List of competitors, competitors’ financials, market share, product differences, brand identity, industry growth, etc.
|
|
Recommended Research Approach: |
|
|
Activity #2: Threat of New Entry |
|
|
Discussion: |
What threats do new companies face in entering your industry?
Example: Economies of scale, strong brand identities, high switching costs, capital requirements, government policy, etc.
|
|
Recommended Research Approach: |
|
|
Activity #3: Threat of Substitutes |
|
|
Discussion: |
What product or service may substitute your company’s current product or service?
Example: Uber as substitute to traditional taxi services
|
|
Recommended Research Approach: |
|
|
Activity #4: Power of Suppliers |
|
|
Discussion: |
How do you determine the power of a supplier?
Example: Supplier concentration, lack of supplier competition, switching costs, uniqueness of process and/or material, etc.
|
|
Recommended Research Approach: |
|
|
Activity #5: Power of Buyers |
|
|
Discussion: |
How do you determine the power of the buyers?
Example: Buyer concentration, buyer switching costs, brand loyalty, availability of substitutes, etc.
|
|
Recommended Research Approach: |
|
