A vast collection of free nursing resources on Lippincott NursingCenter. From nursing journals to continuing education activities to podcasts!
Developed in response to the shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse, provides a web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Requires setting up a free ECRI account.
Reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. These reports review relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics.
Clinical search engine that searches across multiple Internet sites for evidence-based content. It covers key medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and other highly relevant websites.
Simply put, Grey Literature consists of materials that are unpublished or have been published outside of the typical commercial publishing environment. Grey literature can consist of reports, articles, presentations, theses, conference proceedings, government documents, and much more.
Grey Literature can be difficult to locate because it is usually only found outside of the standard commercial research databases.
If you are conducting an in-depth literature review or systematic review on a particular topic, it is important to search for grey literature in addition to studies and articles found in PubMed or CINAHL to ensure that you haven't missed anything important or useful.
Here are some resources to assist you in finding grey (unpublished) literature in nursing and learn more about the topic.
A free, publicly available deep web search engine focusing on medical information.
Open medical search engine including information from government agencies, reference sites, journal, etc.
"Search and browse any health sciences topic from over 50,000 courses, references, guidelines, and other learning resources. Materials are selected from accredited educational sources including universities, governments, and professional societies."
Clinical search engine, focusing on high-quality research evidence but includes some potential grey literature as well.
Allows you to search across multiple institutional repositories as well as locate specific institutional repositories that might house materials related to your area of interest.
"It is a global digital service that collects, preserves and shares nursing research and evidence-based practice materials."
"Open access database to 700,000 bibliographical references of gray literature produced in Europe."
Grey literature PowerPoint database, Biomedical and Life Sciences Search Engine. Search under unpublished nursing literature.
"Global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases."
Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
State health statistics from the Kaiser Foundation.
AHRQ provides data on topics such as emergency department visits, health care quality, hospitalizations, and more.
Annual reports; also includes State Snapshots.
System that allows you to search across a variety of public health reports and data systems by topic.
Data 2010 Data are included for all the objectives and subgroups identified within Healthy People 2010.
Find cancer data and statistics.
Find Health Data on a variety of topics.
Part of the CDC, NCHS provides datasets and statistics on a variety of health topics.
Weekly publication from the CDC that contains statistics.
Blogs and Apps can also be useful tools as part of your practice-
Just remember they support but do not substitute for research!
