Research and Library Introduction (ENGL 102)

Unlocking that which is hidden!

Now that you’ve chosen a topic, pre-searched it, and developed your research question, it is now time to identify the key concepts you want to focus on regarding your topic. You may have already begun doing this during your pre-search. From these key concepts you will generate the key and related terms needed in searching your library's catalog and databases. Taking the time to brainstorm key and related terms, beforehand, is immensely helpful as you begin searching your library databases.

THE REASON: There are some distinct differences between searching using a web search engine and searching using a library database search engine.

Whereas WEB SEARCH ENGINES use "natural language" searching, LIBRARY DATABASE SEARCH ENGINES typically use "key term" or "keyword" searching. During your "pre-search" process you may have already began identifying key search terms related to your topic and research question. These will be useful in your library database searching!

Natural Language Searching vs Keyword / Key Term Searching

• Natural Language Searching refers to the type of search you would do in Google. Using a single search box to enter a complete sentence/question or several relevant terms in any order, the web search algorithm takes control and delivers results it determines to be most relevant. 
• Keyword / Key Term Searching refers to the type of search you would do in a library database. Using a targeted search strategy that instructs the search engine to look for specific terms, the search engine renders results based on the specific order and/or a specific proximity of the key terms as directed by the Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT). This is also referred to as Boolean Searching.  Often an advanced key term search will involve multiple search boxes.

In addition to identifying your initial key terms, it is also important to brainstorm alternate related terms, whether they be actual word synonyms or separate but similar concepts.

Why? Because not everyone uses the same terminology. For example, you may use the word "teens" but authors may use "adolescents," or “young people,” or “youth,” etc.

By using alternate related terms, you could substantially increase your efficiency and effectiveness in successfully finding what you are looking for.

Here is an example of taking it from topic to key concepts to key and related terms:

Topic: Special Education

Research Question: Is educational equality preserved or hindered as a result of special education programming?

Start searching and modify your keywords as necessary. 

• Pay attention to titles, abstracts, and headings used in the results you find helpful.
• Some databases provide lists of subject terms, subject headings, or keywords for individual sources. See if you can find those to help add to your own list.

 Tip: Keep in mind that keywords are tricky, they will evolve and you'll likely come across better ones as you begin searching. The more you search and learn about your topic, the easier it will be to develop keywords.

Here is a short video (1:28) that gives further insight into key and related (alternate) terms:

• Why do they matter?
  • Good search terms will help you get better quality results in a shorter period of time. 
• How do I develop terms?
  • One way to start developing your search terms is to pull the significant main ideas out of your research question. 
• What else can I do? 
  • ​Once you've established some search terms, you can connect them with the terms AND , OR, NOT. 
• See the following examples - Significant search terms are bolded and these are what you might plug in to a database as terms to get started in your search.

Topic: The Great Depression

1. What was the impact of The Great Depression on government policies in the 1930's and 1940's?
   > Your search string might look like this: Great Depression AND government policies AND 1930-1940.
    
2. In what ways did the Smoot-Hawley Tariff Act contribute to The Great Depression and how did it lead to tariff policy change in the years immediately following?
   > Your search string might look like this Smoot-Hawley Tariff Act AND Great Depression  WITH A SEPARATE SEARCH FOR U.S. tariff policy change and 1940

Boolean logic defines logical relationships between terms in a search. The Boolean operators are and, or and not. You can use these operators to create a very broad or very narrow search.