Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WWCC Library Services Update-Coronavirus COVID-19 event: Home

WWCC Library Services

Effective March 23rd until further notice:
WWCC Library will be closed.


Library staff remain available to help online!    undefined


                   

Library Services

 

Borrowing Books:

  • All books are now due at the end of the term, Monday, June 16th.  If you have a book out, you're all set. We've extended your loan and fines will not be charged unless item is permanently lost.  If you'd like to return your book--please use the outside bookdrop.

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article in one of our library databases or on Google which is not available full-text, the WWCC library will get it for you electronically, Just fill out the form ILL request form or complete step 3 of our WWCC ILL Form.

Article ILL's may be delayed due to lending library closures. 

Book interlibrary loan will not be available until further notice.

Public Library Resources

WWCC students can access their area Public Library's digital resources. If you and your family are spending extended time at home, you may want to take advantage of your public library's extensive collection of popular ebooks, audiobooks, streaming films & television shows, online magazines, and even comics.

Walla Walla Public Library-City

Walla Walla Public Libraries-County Residents

Asotin County Libraries

Lewiston, ID City Library

Research Help

Research Help 24/7

Looking for research sources for an assignment? Having trouble using library databases? Not sure if your sources are credible? Need citation help?  Contact us via chat or email!  We can answer your questions right away or schedule a live appointment.

Research Databases

You can access articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and more. When off-campus, remember to use your SID # to access these items in our library databases.  Click here for an A-Z list of all the databases WWCC subscribes to.

Research & Resources: An Introduction to Research

  • This guide is an introduction to the research process, understanding different types of resources, where to find them, how to evaluate them and cite them.

eBooks

WWCC has a robust collection of eBooks; over 210,000 titles!

EBOOKS – EBSCO eBook, Academic, and Community College Collections

A quick tutorial on how to access WWCC eBooks

National Emergency Library

Announcing the National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

Open Resources

Open Databases

Available free to anyone with internet access.

Chronicling America

Historic American newspaper pages from 1789-1963.

Directory of Open Access Books

Thousands of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 282 publishers.

Directory of Open Access Journals

A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR Open Content

Thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.

HathiTrust Digital Library

A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

LSE Research Online (Institutional Repository)

Journal articles, book chapters, books, working papers, conference papers and more produced by London School of Economics and Political Science staff.

Oxford Open

Oxford University Press publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience.

Project Gutenberg

Over 57,000 free eBooks.

PubMed

Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Handout: PubMed Basics

SAGE Open Access Journals

SAGE is the world's largest independent academic publisher and is committed to global dissemination of research.

Wiley Open Access Journals

Authoritative peer-reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.

Faculty Support

Faculty Support

Librarians are available to support faculty. Contact one of WWCC's Faculty Librarians, or use chat for immediate support.

We can help!

Reference and Research you already know, but we can also help with the following:

Information Literacy/Inquiry Strategies

Questions about Copyright/Fair Use?

OER?

Online Instructional Techniques?

and more!

 

Canvas Support

Librarians can collaborate in Canvas as well! As many classes migrate to online instruction next quarter please remember that WWCC Librarians can provide information literacy instruction and support through Canvas.  We can assist in discussions and making tailored canvas modules for specific research assignments.

Teaching Support

Your librarian can consult with you on ideas for maintaining instructional continuity around research assignments and information literacy skills.  They are available to consult on syllabus and assignment design or the availability of library resources.  With advance notice, course specific online research guides (sample) and learning activities can be created and integrated into Canvas.

 

 

Information Literacy Tutorials at other institutions


You can use these tutorials for fundamental information literacy skills to inspire online assignments & assessments, on your own or in collaboration with your librarian:

  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee – A scaffolded set of text and video tutorials that introduce different aspects of information literacy, including a section for faculty to more easily incorporate this content into a lesson.
  • McHenry County College – A solid set of text tutorials that walk students through the stages of the research process, paying particular attention to developing a research topic, plan, and foundation of information.